2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards – Television Nominations Announced

Severance Apple TV+

Severance, Apple TV+

Film Independent has announced the list of TV nominees for the 2023 Spirit Awards. Leading the nominations were Abbott Elementary, The Bear, Severance and Station Eleven, all of which received three nominations each.

“As the television landscape continues to evolve, and independent artists expand the idea of how stories can be told, we’re proud to be changing with them,” said Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent. “With our new categories and gender-neutral acting awards, we hope to better reflect the diversity of incredible work being created by these talented artists.”

This year, just like the film nominees, the acting categories will be gender-neutral, with the best actor and actress categories replaced with Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series award having 10 nominees. Additionally, Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series award has been added to honor performances outside of the leading roles.

The 38th annual awards ceremony will be held on the beach in Santa Monica on Sunday, March 4.

Here is the complete list of TV nominees.

Best New Scripted Series

“The Bear”
“The Porter”
“Station Eleven”

Best Ensemble Cast in a new Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

“Children of the Underground”
“Mind Over Murder”
“Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?”
“The Rehearsal”
“We Need to Talk About Cosby”

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Aml Ameen, “The Porter”
Mohammed Amer, “Mo”
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary”
Bridget Everett, “Somebody Somewhere”
KaMillion, “Rap Sh!t”
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets”
Himesh Patel, “Station Eleven”
Sue Ann Pien, “As We See It”
Adam Scott, “Severance”
Ben Whishaw, “This Is Going to Hurt”

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Danielle Deadwyler, “Station Eleven”
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear”
Jeff Hiller, “Somebody Somewhere”
Gbemisola Ikumelo, “A League of Their Own” (I think?)
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary”
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Frank Quiñones, “The Fool”
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Molly Shannon, “I Love That for You”
Tramell Tillman, “Severance”