Missy Elliott, Mariah Carey, John Prine Nominated For Songwriters Hall of Fame

By Creative Media Times


This year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees have been announced for its 2019 induction ceremony. Among the nominees are Missy Elliott, Mariah Carey, Jimmy Cliff, the Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde, Tommy James, and others.

Elliott’s nomination marks the first time for a female rapper to receive the Songwriters Hall of Fame nom. This follows JAY-Z who last year became the first rapper to be inducted. Elliott has written for herself as well as other artists such as Whitney Houston and Aaliyah.

Carey on the other hand is responsible for either writing or co-writing most of her 18 number one hits including “Vision of Love” and “Hero,” and as well as the perennial holiday hit “All I Want For Christmas.”

Goldmind . Elektra

“The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates and honors the contributions of our great popular music songwriters, while developing new writing talent through workshops, showcases, scholarships, and digital initatives,” according to Songwriters Hall of Fame.

In order to be eligible for induction, a songwriter must have written and published notable hit songs for at leaste 20 years.

After eligible members of the Hall of Fame have voted, six of the nominees are set to be inducted at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s induction gala in New York on June 13, 2019. The voting end on December 17.