Cannes Film Festival 2019 Winners

By Creative Media Times

CJ Entertainment

The 2019 Cannes Film Festival has officially ended, with the jury awarding this year’s bet films and performances at the festival.

This year’s highest honor went to Bong Joon-ho of South Korea, winning the Palme d’Or for his dark comedy film “Parasite.” The Palme d’Or is the highest prize at the Cannes Film Festival, and this is the first time that a Korean film has won the honor.

Another big winner was French director Céline Sciamma, who won the screenplay prize for the 18th century love story “Portrait of a Lady on Fire.”

The best actress award was given to British actress Emily Beecham for Jessica Hausner’s drama film “Little Joe.” Antonio Banderas took the best actor trophy for Pedro Almodóvar’s drama Pain and Glory.

This year’s jury was headed by Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, a first for a latin american to serve as jury president. Iñárritu won best director at the academy awards for two consecutive years, first for Birdman in 2014, followed by The Revenant in 2015.

Here is the full list of winners at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival is below.


Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho
Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop
Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Young Ahmed”
Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”
Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”
Jury Prize — TIE: “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly; “Bacurau,” Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles
Screenplay: Céline Sciamma, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”
Special Mention: “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman

Other Prizes

Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” Cesar Diaz
Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between the Sky and Us,” Vasilis Kekatos
Short Films Special Mention: “Monster God,” Agustina San Martin
Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “For Sama”
Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Hidden Life,” Terrence Malick
Queer Palm: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão,” Karim Aïnouz
Jury Prize: “Fire Will Come,” Oliver Laxe
Best Director: Kantemir Balagov, “Beanpole”
Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni, “On a Magical Night”
Special Jury Prize: Albert Serra, “Liberté”
Special Jury Mention “Joan of Arc,” Bruno Dumont
Coup de Coeur Award: “A Brother’s Love,” Monia Chokri; “The Climb,” Michael Angelo Covino

Directors’ Fortnight

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “An Easy Girl,” Rebecca Zlotowski
Europa Cinemas Label: “Alice and the Mayor,” Nicolas Parisier
Illy Short Film Award: “Stay Awake, Be Ready,” An Pham Thien

Critics’ Week

Nespresso Grand Prize: “I Lost My Body,” Jérémy Clapin
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: César Díaz, “Our Mothers”
GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: The Jokers Films, French distributor for “Vivarium” by Lorcan Finnegan
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Ingvar E. Sigurðsson, “A White, White Day”
Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “She Runs,” Qiu Yang
Canal Plus Award for Short Film: “Ikki Illa Meint,” Andrias Høgenni


Competition: “It Must Be Heaven” (Elia Suleiman)
Un Certain Regard: “Beanpole” (Kantemir Balagov)
Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “The Lighthouse” (Robert Eggers)


First Prize: “Mano a Mano,” Louise Courvoisier
Second Prize: “Hiéu,” Richard Van
Third Prize — TIE: “Ambience,” Wisam Al Jafari; “Duszyczka” (The Little Soul), Barbara Rupik