ASC Announces Nominees For Best In Cinematography Of 2018

By Creative Media Times


“Roma”, “Cold War” and “A Star Is Born” are the among the nominees in American Society of Cinematographers’ best in 2018.

Alfonso Cuarón is particularly impressive given that he is also the film’s director, as well as co-edited the film with Adam Gough. This gives the Mexican director and his film a strong momentum in the weeks heading towards the Oscars.

Also getting mentioned in the theatrical release categories are historical period comedy-drama “The Favorite” and biographical drama “First Man”.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Theatrical Release

Alfonso Cuarón for “Roma”
Matthew Libatique, ASC for “A Star is Born”
Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for “The Favourite”
Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF for “First Man”
Lukasz Zal, PSC for “Cold War”

Spotlight Award
Joshua James Richards for “The Rider”
Giorgi Shvelidze for “Namme”
Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC for “Girl”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat for “The Man in the High Castle”: “Jahr Null”
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for “The Crown”: “Beryl”
David Klein, ASC for “Homeland”: “Paean to the People”
Colin Watkinson, ASC for “The Handmaid’s Tale”: “The Word”
Cathal Watters, ISC for “Peaky Blinders”: “The Company”
Zoe White, ACS for “The Handmaid’s Tale”: “Holly”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for “Timeless”: “The King of the Delta Blues”
Jon Joffin, ASC for “Beyond”: “Two Zero One”
Ben Richardson for “Yellowstone”: “Daybreak”
David Stockton, ASC for “Gotham”: “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
Thomas Yatsko, ASC for “Damnation”: “A Different Species”

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
James Friend, BSC for “Patrick Melrose”: “Bad News”
Mathias Herndl, AAC for “Genius: Picasso”: “Chapter 1”
Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for “The Terror”: “Go for Broke”
M. David Mullen, ASC for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (pilot)
Brendan Steacy, CSC for “Alias Grace”: “Part 1”