‘Apollo 11’, ‘Honeyland’ And Bruce Springsteen Among Winners At Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards

By Creative Media Awards


The Critics Choice Association (CCA) has announced winners for its fourth annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards, which took place at BRIC in Brooklyn, New York, hosted by HGTV’s Property Brothers Jonathan Scott.

Apollo 11 took home the evening’s top prize: the Best Documentary Feature. The documentary, which focuses on the the 1969 first spaceflight from which men walked on the Moon, also took Best Editing for Todd Douglas Miller, Best Score for Matt Morton, Best Archival Documentary, and Best Science/Nature Documentary.

Other winners were Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice, Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am and Bruce Springsteen won for his narration of Western Stars.

The best director turned into a tie between Peter Jackson for “They Shall Not Grow Old,” and Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar for “American Factory.” “They Shall Not Grow Old” is Peter Jackson’s first documentary as director. “American Factory” also won the award for Best Political Documentary.

Some of presenters included Jim Gaffigan, Zooey Deschanel, Lou Diamond Phillips, Gloria Reuben, Rose McGowan, Dr. Ruth Westheimer, Wyatt Cenac, Erich Bergen, Nicole J. Butler and Reggie Currelley, Aasif Mandvi, Ryan Serhant, and Amir Arison.

Best Documentary Feature: “Apollo 11”
Best Director: (TIE) Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert, “American Factory” and Peter Jackson, “They Shall Not Grow Old”
Best Cinematography: John Chester, “The Biggest Little Farm”
Best Editing: Todd Douglas Miller, “Apollo 11”
Best Score: Matt Morton, “Apollo 11”
Best Narration: Bruce Springsteeen (narrator and writer), “Western Stars”

Best First Documentary Feature: Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov, “Honeyland”
Best Archival Documentary: “Apollo 11”
Best Biographical Documentary: “Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am”
Best Music Documentary: “Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice”
Best Political Documentary: “American Factory”
Best Science/Nature Documentary: “Apollo 11”
Best Sports Documentary: “Maiden”
Most Innovative Documentary: “They Shall Not Grow Old”
Best Short Documentary: “Period. End of Sentence.”
Most Compelling Living Subjects of a Documentary (non-competitive category):
Dr. Amani Ballor, “The Cave”
David Crosby, “David Crosby: Remember My Name”
Tracy Edwards, “Maiden”
Imelda Marcos, “The Kingmaker”
Hatidze Muratova, “Honeyland”
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Amy Vilela, Cori Bush, and Paula Jean Swearengin, “Knock Down the House”
Linda Ronstadt, “Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice”
Dr. Ruth Westheimer, “Ask Dr. Ruth”
D.A. Pennebaker Award: Frederick Wiseman
Landmark Award: Michael Apted for the “Up” series