2016 Producers Guild nominees: ‘Spotlight,’ ‘The Big Short’, “Mad Max: Fury Road” among the field

By Armando

Historically, the Producer Guild Awards (PGA) is considered a strong indicator of how Oscar best picture will turn out. Consider this metric: over 80% of PGA nominees have become Oscar nominees since 2009.

However, it has been a wide-open awards season so far. Aside from the consensus building around Spotlight, Oscar front-runners this year seems more difficult to determine.

This year, PGA keeps it interesting with the surprise inclusion of a few well-reviewed films — the artificial intelligence thriller “Ex Machina”, and the border drama “Sicario”.

Here is the list of the PGA’s film nominations. The awards will be given out Jan. 23.

“The Big Short”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Ex Machina”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”
“Straight Outta Compton”

Winners will be announced on Jan. 23 during a ceremony in Los Angeles.

Full list below:

The theatrical motion picture nominees are:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
The Big Short
Producers: Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner

Bridge of Spies
Producers: Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, Kristie Macosko Krieger

Producers: Finola Dwyer & Amanda Posey

Ex Machina
This film is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility

Mad Max: Fury Road
Producers: Doug Mitchell & George Miller

The Martian
Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, Mark Huffam

The Revenant
Producers: Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, Keith Redmon

Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Edward L. McDonnell, Molly Smith

Producers: Michael Sugar & Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Blye Pagon Faust

Straight Outta Compton
Producers: Ice Cube & Matt Alvarez, F. Gary Gray, Dr. Dre, Scott Bernstein

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producers: Rosa Tran, Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman

The Good Dinosaur
Producer: Denise Ream

Inside Out
Producer: Jonas Rivera

Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

The Peanuts Movie
Producers: Craig Schulz, Michael J. Travers

The television nominees are:

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

American Crime (Season 1)
This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility

American Horror Story: Hotel (Season 5)
Producers: Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy, Brad Buecker, Tim Minear, Jennifer Salt, James Wong, Alexis Martin Woodall, Robert M. Williams Jr.

Fargo (Season 2)
Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd

True Detective (Season 2)
Producers: Nic Pizzolatto, Scott Stephens, Steve Golin, Aida Rodgers

A Very Murray Christmas
This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:
Back on Board: Greg Louganis
Hard Knocks: Training Camp With the Houston Texans
Kareem: Minority of One
Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:
30 for 30 Shorts
Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee
Epic Rap Battles of History
Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Double Agent
This American Life Presents: Videos 4 U