“The Shape Of Water” Win Top Prize At The Oscars

By Creative Media Times

The Shape of Water. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Fantasy drama film “The Shape Of Water” was the big winner at Sunday night’s Academy Awards, taking home Best Picture and Best Director for Guillermo del Toro. The film came in with 13 nominations and won four awards overall, including Best Production Design and Best Score.

In his acceptance speech, the director dedicated the award to young filmmakers, saying
“this is a door. Kick it open and come in.” Earlier during his directing win del Toro also said: “I think the greatest thing our industry does is erase the lines in the sand, we should keep doing that as the world tries to make them deeper.”

“The Shape of Water,” about a mute custodian at a high-security government lab who falls in love with a captured humanoid-amphibian creature, has had a great run during the award season. Guillermo del Toro himself has swept best director trophies at the BAFTAs, Golden Globe and Directors Guild Awards.

Hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, the 90th Academy Awards took place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California

Here is the list of winners:

Best Motion Picture of the Year
The Shape of Water

Achievement in Directing
The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Achievement in Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 – Roger A. Deakins

Original Screenplay
Get Out by Jordan Peele

Adapted Screenplay
Call Me By Your Name by James Ivory

Achievement in Film Editing
Dunkirk – Lee Smith

Achievement in Music (Original Score)
The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year
A Fantastic Woman – Chile

Best Documentary Feature
Icarus – Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan

Achievement in Production Design
The Shape of Water – Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin

Achievement in Costume Design
Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges

Achievement in Sound Editing
Dunkirk – Richard King and Alex Gibson

Achievement in Sound Mixing
Dunkirk – Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker and Gary A. Rizzo

Achievement in Visual Effects
Blade Runner 2049 – John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover

Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling
Darkest Hour – Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick

Achievement in Music (Original Song)
Remember Me from Coco
Music and Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

Best Documentary Short Subject
Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405 – Frank Stiefel

Best Live Action Short Film
The Silent Child – Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton

Best Animated Short Film
Dear Basketball – Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant