2017 MTV Video Music Awards: Katy Perry, Demi Lovato, Ed Sheeran And More

By Armando


Its only four days away from music world’s big event and the excitement is already heating up as to who will be getting a Moonman this year.

Set to be held this Sunday August 27, 2017 at The Forum in Inglewood, California, MTV’s annual Video Music Awards will be hosted by Katty Perry, marking the first time for Perry as host of the event.

On Wednesday, Demi Lovato took to Twitter to announce her scheduled performance on Sunday. “See you at the VMAs this year,” Lovato wrote complete with emojis. Gucci Mane, Logic and Post Malone are also set to perform, joining previously announced artists Ed Sheeran, Miley Cyrus, Fifth Harmony, The Weeknd, Lorde, Kendrick Lamar, Julia Michaels, Thirty Seconds to Mars, and Shawn Mendes.

Also this week, Cardi B was announced to perform at the pre-show stage. She will be joined by “Location” singer and songwriter Khalid and indie pop act Bleachers.

The event is set to be a big night for P!nk, who will be receiving a Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award for her accomplishments in music and film. Sometimes called “Lifetime Achievement Award” in some years, the accolade has been given to some of music’s biggest names, most recently Justin Timberlake, Beyoncé, Kanye West, and Rihanna.

The top nominees for this year’s Video of the Year include Kendrick Lamar for “Humble”, Bruno Mars for “24K Magic”, Alessia Cara for “Scars to Your Beautiful”, DJ Khaled (featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller) for “Wild Thoughts”, and The Weeknd for “Reminder.”

The ceremony on Sunday will start at 8 p.m. ET while red carpet starts at 7 p.m. ET. The pre-show will be hosted by rapper Lil Yachty.