Kathryn Bigelow To Be Honored By Filmmaker Award

By Creative Media Times


Acclaimed director Kathryn Bigelow is set to be honored by the Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE), the organization announced today. The award recognizes her contributions to the art of cinema and will be presented during the MPSE Golden Reel Awards ceremony on February 18th in Los Angeles

Bigelow is responsible for directing acclaimed films such as the war film The Hurt Locker (2008), action thriller war film Zero Dark Thirty (2012), and this year’s crime drama Detroit.

The Hurt Locker brought Bigelow plenty of accolades, including Academy Award for Best Director, the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directing, and the BAFTA Award for Best Direction. So far, she’s the only woman to win an Oscar for best director.

The film itself, which follows an Iraq war explosive ordnance disposal team, won six Academy Awards including best picture, best director, best original screenplay, best editing, best sound mixing and best sound editing. The Hurt Locker was followed by Zero Dark Thirty, which was similarly acclaimed by critics and won her best director award from the National Board of Review.

About MPSE
Founded in 1953, the Motion Picture Sound Editors is a non-profit organization of professional sound and music editors who work in the motion picture television and gaming industries. The organization’s mission is to provide a wealth of knowledge from award-winning professionals to a diverse group of individuals, youth and career professionals alike; mentoring and educating the community about the artistic merit and technical advancements in sound and music editing; providing scholarships for the continuing advancement of motion picture sound in education; and helping to enhance the personal and professional lives of the men and women who practice this unique craft. mpse.org