Kennedy Center Announce This Year’s Honorees

By Creative Media Times

Singer and actress Cher, country singer Reba McEntire, composer Philip Glass, jazz saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter, and the creators of the Broadway hit musical “Hamilton” are among this year’s recipients of Kennedy Center Honors, the center announced on Wednesday.

The special honor to the “Hamilton” musical, which includes writer and actor Lin-Manuel Miranda, director Thomas Kail, choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler, and music director Alex Lacamoire, is a unique given that, in its 41-year history, the center have always awarded individuals.

“The Kennedy Center Honors recognizes exceptional artists who have made enduring and indelible marks on our culture,” stated Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein.

“The world looks to America for its creative instincts and artistic courage,” said Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter. “This year’s slate of Honorees represents the pinnacle of our nation’s originality and the rich mosaic of diverse perspectives and art forms that has come to define who we are as a people.”

The honorees is set to receive tributes during the 41st Annual Kennedy Center Honors which will be broadcast on Dec. 26 on the CBS Television Network, the annual event’s home since its debut 41 years ago.